The University of St. Thomas

Old Guard Reunion

On Friday, September 30, 2016
, those who have graduated more than 50 years ago will be invited to attend a special gala with President Julie Sullivan and alumni celebrating their 10, 20, 30, 40 and 50 year reunions. New in 2016, you will also be joined by alumni celebrating a 5, 15, 25, 35 and 45 year reunion, as well as our newest alumni who have graduated in the past five years. You and your fellow Old Guard members now will celebrate alongside all other St. Thomas alumni, and we know that your added presence will elevate the event and bring more unity to our alumni network.

About the Old Guard
More than 30 years ago, alumni from the 1920s were celebrating their 50-year reunion at the College of St.Thomas. At the reunion, they asked Monsignor Terrence Murphy, then the president of St. Thomas, if the college was going to forget about them after their reunion celebration.

So began the discussion about creating a reunion for all alumni who have passed the 50-year reunion milestone. Mr. Len Tracy ’29, with other alumni and college administrators, devoted time to creating a distinguished group of alumni who would gather on an annual basis. Today, this group is known as the “Old Guard.”

The Old Guard of the University of St.Thomas is composed of alumni who have celebrated their 50-year reunions and have received their Alumnus Magnus certificates from the president of the university.

The Old Guard is the protector of the foundations and traditions of St. Thomas.  Old Guard members show their pride in the university through public support of St. Thomas, participation in alumni activities, volunteering with their alma mater, and financial support.

In honor of the reunion, we encourage you to give a gift in support of student scholarships. Many classes have endowed scholarships that you can support to provide scholarship funds to current and future students. For classes that do not have scholarships, the Old Guard Fund has been established. Please contribute online.


Reunion Planning Committee
A special thank you to these individuals who have helped make the Old Guard reunions memorable! 

Gary Ales '62
Anthony Alleva '64
Ronald Arneberg '55
Dennis Barrett '64
Thomas Bastasz '60
Donald Becker '51
Bernard Brodkorb, Jr. '63
David Bucheck '64
Robert Burns '56
Larry Butler '57
Martin Campion '55
Leo Casey '48
Alfred Colling '59
Donald Combs '48
Donald Cosgrove '62
Duane Crosland '65
Terry Cummings '62
Gary Davis '63
Terence Dempsey '54
John Dolan '59
Thomas Duffy '55
Thomas Dzik '64
John Eibert '49
John Engel '55
Ronald Evon '57
Eugene Faulhaber '52
John Fischer '60
Jerry Friedmann    '59
Mike Galvin '52
Dennis Ginther '60
Jean Gray '51
Lou Haak '54
Lee Hallgren '57
Richard    Hardes '61
Jim Hare '56
Mike Heffron '57
Fred Keup '52
Tom King '60
John Knox '43
Ray Kroll '64
Bruce Leier '64
Raymond    Mahowald '59
Charlie Matthews '53
John Maturen '53
Richard    McKenna    '57
Pat Mentone '64
Gerald Meyer '57
Roger Meyer '61
Herbert    Mischke    '48
George Moskalik    '39
Don Nowak '43
Tom Pacholl '50
Nick Paduano '64
Lou Pilney '53
Thomas Rolewicz '61
Al Rosinski '54
Thomas Russell '61
John Scanlan '59
Pat Scanlan '52
Bob Schmall '54
Daniel Schneeman '54
Bill Schroeder '63
Fred Scofield '58
Dan Shidla '63
Fr. David Smith '58
David Steveken '57
Don Traxler '50
Denny Wagener '58
Art Walsh '62

Check the schedule for all of the options that you can enjoy when you return for your reunion.
Update Your Information
Update your profile to stay up-to-date on new opportunities.
Traveling Information
Don't live near campus? No problem!
Contact Us
Have a question? Let us help!